June 6, Live Google Hangout: "The Hunt for Distant Galaxies"

June 4, 2013
Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU)

June 6, 6:00 - 6:30 am JST [ June 5,  2:00 – 2:30 pm PDT ]
Live Google Hangout: "The Hunt for Distant Galaxies"
(Hosted by The Kavli Foundation)

Want to join the hunt for new galaxies?  On June 6, 6:00 - 6:30 am JST (June 5, 9:00 - 9:30 pm UTC; June 5, 2:00 – 2:30 pm  PDT), a team of astronomers will share how you can help them find faint and distant galaxies by joining a search they've called “Space Warps.” They will discuss a strange phenomenon in the cosmos, known as “gravitational lens,” that actually makes it possible for us to see a galaxy far away and otherwise hidden by clusters of galaxies in front of them. The gravitational lenses can be also used to weigh galaxies, helping us to figure out how much dark matter they contain and how it's distributed.

The astronomers will also answer your questions about their ongoing search for distant galaxies, what this reveals about the cosmos, and how astronomers are beginning to fill out our picture of the universe.

The participants:

  • ANUPREETA MORE is a co-Principal Investigator of Space Warps and a postdoctoral fellow at the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe at the University of Tokyo.
  • PHILIP MARSHALL is a researcher at the Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology at Stanford University and SLAC.
  • ARFON SMITH is Director of Citizen Science at the Adler Planetarium in Chicago and Technical Lead of Zooniverse (www.zooniverse.org).

Ask your questions:

Questions can be submitted before or during the webcast. Email questions to info@kavlifoundation.org or send a message on Twitter with the hashtag #KavliAstro.

Hangout address:

This hangout will be available at: http://www.kavlifoundation.org/science-spotlights/spotlight-live-hunt-space-warps

Related News Release:

"Space Warps Project Needs Your Help" -- May 8, 2013, Kavli IPMU


Kavli IPMU Public Relation Office
Yoshihisa OBAYASHI / Tomomi HIJIKATA
+81 4 7136 5974 / 5977