2012 Lancelot M. Berkeley Prize to Eiichiro Komatsu

January 15, 2013

Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe(Kavli IPMU)

Eiichiro Komatsu,  Director of  Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA) and Kavli IPMU Visiting Senior Scientist, won the 2012 Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy.
The prize was established in 2010 and awarded annually for highly meritorious work in advancing the science of astronomy during the previous year.  Komatsu received it to his paper, "Seven-year Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) Observations: Cosmological Interpretation” 
Komatsu has been a member of the WMAP Team since 2001 and was the first author of the papers presenting the cosmological interpretation of their five- and seven-year WMAP data sets.  WMAP brought precise and accurate understandings of the age, content, geometry and origin of the universe, and led to the firm foundation of the Standard Cosmological Model.
The award ceremony and  the prize lecture were held  on January 10, 2013 during the annual meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Long Beach, USA.




American Astronomical Society (AAS)

Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics