The Nishinomiya-Yukawa Memorial Prize to Eiichiro Komatsu

August 18, 2010
Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (IPMU)

The Nishinomiya-Yukawa Memorial Prize, one of the Nishinomiya-Yukawa Memorial Operations is being awarded to Eiichiro Komatsu, a Professor from The University of Texas at Austin and a Joint Appointments researcher at IPMU this year.

Eiichiro KomatsuEiichiro Komatsu

The Nishinomiya-Yukawa Memorial Operartions were created to honor and respect the late Doctor Hideki Yukawa who formulated the meson theory while he was living in Nishinomiya. The Prize is awarded to young scientists in theoretical physics every year.

This year's award-winning research is titled "Critical tests of thelry of the early universe using the cosmic microwave background" . He was awarded this Prize for his contribution to constrain the cosmology parameters such as the age of the Universe and the dark energy, and to constrain the models of the early universe such as the inflation Universe model using NASA's Wilkinson Microwave Anisortropy Probe (WMAP) satellite.

The award ceremony will be held on November 4th at the city hall. 

Related sites: