2016 Kavli Prize Announcement

June 2, 2016
Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (WPI), UTIAS, The University of Tokyo


Today, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters will announce the 2016 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. Watch the live webcast from Oslo and the World Science Festival, New York, from 8:15 - 10:00AM EDT / 9:15 - 11:00PM Japan Standard Time.

To watch the live webcast, follow this link (Kavli Prize Laureate Announcement will be from 9:00 - 9:15AM EDT / 10:00 - 10:15PM JST)

The webcast program is as follows:

  • Opening Keynote 

      Speaker: France Córdova (Director, National Science Foundation)

  • Announcement of the 2016 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience

      Presenter: Ole M. Sejersted (President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters)

      Moderator: Adam Rutherford (science writer and broadcaster)

  • The Big, the Small and the Complex: A Post-Announcement Panel Discussion  

      Moderator: Richard Besser (ABC News)

      Panelists: Cori Bargmann (2012 Kavli Prize Laureate, The Rockefeller University Torsten N. Wiesel Professor), Michal Lipson (Columbia University Cornell Given Foundation Professor of Engineering), Nergis Mavalvala (Massachusetts Institute of Technology Curtis and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics)

* For full details, go to the Kavli Prize website


About the Kavli Prizes

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (USA) and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. The Kavli Prizes were initiated by and named after Fred Kavli (1927-2013), founder of The Kavli Foundation, which is dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of humanity, promoting public understanding of scientific research, and supporting scientists and their work.

Presented every two years, each of three international prizes consists of $1 million (U.S.). Laureates are chosen by committees whose members are recommended by six of the world’s most renowned science societies and academies.


Related stories

Nine scientific pioneers receive the 2014 Kavli Prizes

Seven scientific pioneers receive the 2012 Kavli Prizes

Obituary: Fred Kavli, Founder and Chairman of The Kavli Foundation


Related Links

The Kavli Foundation

The Kavli Prize