2018 Kavli Prize Announcement

May 31, 2018
Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU)


Today, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters will announce the 2018 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. Watch the live webcast from Oslo and the World Science Festival, New York, from 8:30AM EDT / 9:30PM Japan Standard Time.

To watch the live webcast, follow this link (Kavli Prize Laureate Announcement will be from 9:00AM EDT / 10:00PM JST)

The webcast program is as follows:

  • Opening Keynote 

      Keynote Speaker: The Honorable Shirley Ann Jackson, Ph.D. (President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

  • Announcement of the 2018 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience

      Presenter: Ole M. Sejersted (President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters)

      Moderator: Adam Rutherford (science writer and broadcaster)

  • World Science Festival Program 

      Moderator: Brian Greene (Columbia University Professor of Physics and Mathematics)

      Panelists: Laura H. Greene (Florida State University Eppes Professor of Physics), Irwin Shapiro (Harvard University Timken University Professor), Leslie B. Vosshall (The Rockefeller University Robin Cheers Neustein Professor and Kavli Neural Systems Institute Director)

* For full details, go to the Kavli Prize website


About the Kavli Prizes

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (USA) and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. The Kavli Prizes were initiated by and named after Fred Kavli (1927-2013), founder of The Kavli Foundation, which is dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of humanity, promoting public understanding of scientific research, and supporting scientists and their work.

Presented every two years, each of three international prizes consists of $1 million (U.S.). Laureates are chosen by committees whose members are recommended by six of the world’s most renowned science societies and academies.


Related stories

Nine scientific pioneers receive the 2016 Kavli Prizes

Nine scientific pioneers receive the 2014 Kavli Prizes

Seven scientific pioneers receive the 2012 Kavli Prizes

Obituary: Fred Kavli, Founder and Chairman of The Kavli Foundation


Related Links

The Kavli Foundation

The Kavli Prize