Hirosi Ooguri receives Science Lectureship Award

September 27, 2022
Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU)

Hirosi Ooguri, Director of the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU)and the Fred Kavli Professor of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics at California Institute of Technology, has been named the recipient of the 2022 Science Lectureship Award by Chiba University, Japan

The Science Lectureship Award recognizes researchers with outstanding achievements in sciences. The award has been given every year since 2005 with the exception of 2011 due to the Great Japan Earthquake and 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Recipients are invited to give lectures at the Faculty of Sciences of Chiba University.

"I am honored to receive this award. I hope my lecture will inspire students at Chiba University to explore and expand their interests in sciences," said Ooguri.

Past recipients of the award include Takeaki Kajita Kavli, a Nobel Laureate and a Senior Fellow at the Kavli IPMU, and Keiko Torii, professor at the University of Texas, Austin and at the Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University.

An award ceremony will be held at Chiba University on October 17, where Ooguri will also give a lecture titled "Constraints on Quantum Gravity.”

Related links
Science Lectureship Award 2022 (in Japanese) 
Past recipients of the Science Lectureship Award (in Japanese)
Online registration for the Science Lectureship Award 2022 (in Japanese)